About Sylhet

In the world may it is situated on 23° to 25°-14 north and 90° – 57 to 92 – 28 East longitude and latitude respectively. Sylhet is the north-eastern division of south-east Asian country Bangladesh.

Physical Nature of Soil:
The land of Sylhet comprises of plane land, highland , quagmires and hillocks. Abundance of sandy alluvial in plains, clayey alluvial in quagmires (hour – areas) and gravel mixed reddish soil is hilly areas are noticed .P value of the soil is Sylhet is 5.6 to 6.5
Weather / Climate:
Heavy rain falls as the monsoon clouds blow on the area in summer. This are much colder and holter than the other areas of Bangladesh. The natural climate of this is conducive to health. The highest average temperature is 31.8°c and the lowest is12.9°c.It being a land of six seasons, the three main season it experience are summer (March – May), Rainy season (June – Oct) and winter (Nov-Feb)
As the movement of wind called Moonson becomes weaker in the atmosphere of Bangladesh, the influence of western heavy wind increases in the north – eastern part of the country. And while traveling the heavy wind and accumulated clouds pushing the hills, hillocks of Sylhet district is nearer to Cherapunj. In Sylhet annual average rainfall is 120
The boarder of Sylhet bounds with Meghalaya, Asham and Tripura of India and Mymensing,Netrukuna, Kishoregonj and Brahmanbaria district of Bangladesh.
Sylhet comprises of four districts.
Border frontiers:
There are ten frontiers in Sylhet area.These are:
Sylhet: Guainghat, Companigonj & Zakigonj
Sunamganj: Duarabazar, Tahipur & Bishwambharpur.
Moulvibazar: Komalgonj & Barlekha.
Habiganj: Balla & Chunrughat.
There are 35 upazillas in Sylhet Division.They are:
Balagonj, Beanubazar, Bishwanath, Comanigonj, Fenchugonj, Gulapgonj, Guainghat, Jaiitapur, Kanaighat and Sylhet Sadar.
Bishwambarpur, Chhatak, Derai, Dharmpasha, Duarabazar, Jagannatpur, Jamalgonj, Shalla, Tahirpur and Sunamgonj Sadar.
Baralekha, Komalgonj, Kulaura, Rajnagar, Srimangol and Moulvibazar sadar.
Ajmiriganj, Nabiganj, Baniachaung, Lakhai, Madhabpur, Chunarughat, Bhahubal, Habiganj Sadar.
There are 14 municiplities in Sylhet Division.They are:
Sylhet: Kotwali, Jakigonj.
In Sunamganj: Chhatak, Derai, Jagannatpur, Sunamgonj.
In Moulvibazar: kalalgonj, kulaura, Moulvibazar & Srimongol.
In Habiganj : Shaestaganj, Madhabpur, Nabiganj and Habiganj.
Sylhet has 320 union councils.There are:
Sylhet– 98 Union-Counsil.
Sunamganj– 82 Union-Counsil.
Moulvibazar– 66 Union-Counsi.l
Habiganj- 77 Union-Counsil.
There are 10,185 Villages in Sylhet.
Sylhet– 3249
Sunamganj– 2,823
Moulvibazar– 2,030
Habiganj– 2,093
Total are of Sylhet division is 12,596 square kilometers.
Sylhet– 3,490 square kilometers.
Sunamganj– 3,670 square kilometers.
Moulvibazar– 2,799 square kilometers.
The total population of Sylhet division is 798,99,816 out of which 3987361 are male and 39121447 female. Density of population is 627/sq kilometers.
Rate of literacy:
The average rate of literacy in Sylhet division is 40.66{7c95891f26a6d1f307f74807eaa17317011cdc44f2d40fd5aa8973d705f7df5d}
Sylhet: 45.63{7c95891f26a6d1f307f74807eaa17317011cdc44f2d40fd5aa8973d705f7df5d}
Sunamgonj: 37.97{7c95891f26a6d1f307f74807eaa17317011cdc44f2d40fd5aa8973d705f7df5d}
Moulvibazar: 40.66{7c95891f26a6d1f307f74807eaa17317011cdc44f2d40fd5aa8973d705f7df5d}
Habiganj: 37.08{7c95891f26a6d1f307f74807eaa17317011cdc44f2d40fd5aa8973d705f7df5d}
In Sylhet there are 19 our of 300 constituencies in the Jatio Sansad (Parliament) A representative / member of the parliament are elected by the voters after every five years. A number is allotted to every constituency Starting from the boarding Northern are Panchagar.
Sylhet– 6 Constituencies.
Sunamganj- 5 Constituencies.
Moulvibazar– 8 Constituencies.
Habiganj– 4 Constituencies.

Leave a Reply